Supplementation, pt. 3: Supp Free and Work Hard

I’ve made it a point to use this blog as a forum for my beliefs regarding many subjects in the worlds of both exercise and nutrition. In two previous posts, I outline protein supplementation and make suggestions and deliver critiques on some of the more popular brands available both on store shelves and online. This would lead many readers to believe that I support protein supplementation and perhaps even make the jump and believe that I support nutritional and sports focused supplementation as a whole. However, those beliefs would be incorrect.

Yes, I, Tank Top Tony am coming out against supplementation as a whole. This grand statement does come with a caveat, however. The caveat is this: if time constraints, convenience or other matters dictate that you cannot consume MY recommended amount of protein for fat loss OR muscle gain, then I recommend supplementation. Much in the same way that an individual without access to affordable vegetation might supplement with a multivitamin to fill in the gaps for what they might be missing, so should and so must an individual supplement when they cannot reach their protein goals. In those individuals with healthy kidneys, the benefits of higher than 25% protein intake have already been outlined here on the blog. For those who lack the time or ability to go back and read, here’s what you need to know.

  • Protein has a higher Thermic Effect of Food (TEF) than both carbohydrate and fat, meaning it COSTS more calories to metabolize than the other two macro-nutrients. This leads to greater calorie burn and thus greater weight loss.
  • Protein is the prime macro-nutrient when it comes to muscle gain. More muscle on your body not only means an inherently lower body fat percentage, but also means a higher resting metabolic rate (RMR) and in turn, you BURN MORE FAT!

That said, including more protein in your diet is a no-brainer. If you don’t have the time or energy to consume the amount required (I recommend about .8g/lb. body weight), then a supplement is your next best option. Consult my earlier blogs for further information.

Now, onto the subject at hand. There are three reasons why I began Tank Top Training nearly one year ago: First, I got tired of the snake oil salesmen of the fitness industry constantly sticking up my friends, family and clients for their hard earned dollars with promises of magic pills, cleanses, supplement packages, and other bullshit products. Second, I know that if a client is willing to meet me halfway and put in the effort on their end, I can provide program design, fun, and results oriented training that is second-to-none. Finally, with the expertise I have accrued and the incredibly wonderful clients I’ve partnered with, I knew I didn’t want to answer to anybody but them ever again. If you ask me, the fitness industry in it’s current state is broken. The focus in private remains on how much revenue you bring in and anything else be damned. But I digress…

Pills, powders, and drinks? You don't need 'em. Quit looking for the easy way out!

Pills, powders, and drinks? You don’t need ’em. Quit looking for the easy way out!

When I talk about no supplementation, I mean all supplements. No 24 day challenges, no cleanses, no pre workouts, no magic pills. Will these items get you results? If you’re following the instructions and working hard on your end, yeah more than likely the results will come. The question you need to be asking yourself is this: “Can I get these results on my own, without spending tens or hundreds of dollars?” My answer to that question is a resounding, “You’re damned right.” I could wax poetic on how our culture has developed an obsession with the quick fix, but both you and I have better things to do. The point is, if you are eating right, exercising (and for those of you who are talking about your limitations, guess what? Spring has sprung and you can most certainly take your ass for a walk. Walk til you jog. Jog til you run. Body weight squats and push-ups til you can grab a bar and lift some real weight) and putting in the effort, you can and will get those results. Keep your chin up and when you fall off your horse, get back on. That’s all it takes. One day at a time.

Cheers,

Tank Top

 

Leave a comment